Red Eft

My husband and I were checking out a cabin at one of the state parks in our area when we happened to look down and saw a little orange salamander right next to the car.  I picked it up to move it off the driveway and near the trees so it would be out of harms way.  As soon as I had turned around to head back to the car my husband spotted another one, and then another one, and yet another one. So I began looking down near where I was and sure enough I began seeing them everywhere too.  I transported as many as I could closer to safety and snapped this photo just before they all disappeared into the woods.

Salamander

Aren’t they cute little guys?  I have never seen so many in one place before so I had to research it.  Here is a link to the information that I found…..here and here

It says that they help reduce the mosquito population so I am glad that there were so many around.

Until next time, have a great day!

Sally Ann

Leave a Reply

